Michigan Technological University
2004 Academy of Geological and Mining Engineers and Scientists
The Academy Awards Banquet in the Robbins Atrium: Michigan Tech VP Dale Tahtinen speaking, far left
Gerald G. Carlson, '74 MS Geology, President & CEO Copper Ridge Explorations Inc., Vancouver, BC Canada, with Wayne Pennington, Department Chair, presenting the award
Hilary Dussing, '79 Geological Engineering, Technical Manager(Gabon), Shell Oil Company
Philip Ellsworth, '50 Geological Engineering, Chief Geologist-Minerals, Kerr-McGee Corp., Retired, Oklahoma City, OK
Kenneth Hatfield, '50 Geological Engineering, Geology Instructor, Lake Superior State University, Retired, Sault Sainte Marie, MI
Charles Knobloch, '80 Applied Geophysics, JD Law, Computer Science Geophysics, Petroleum Headquarters, ConocoPhillips, Houston, TX
Walter Rognerud, '71 Geological Engineering, MS Geophysics, Advanced Senior Geophysicist, Marathon Oil Corporation,
Houston, TX
Richard Wunderman, '83 MS, PHD Geology, Volcanologist, Smithsonian Institution
Award to Secretary Amie Ledgerwood
Richard Wunderman, Charles Young and William_Rose
Charles Young, Philip and Margaret Ellsworth
Dean Bob Warrington and Chair Wayne Pennington
Academy members Allan Johnson and Kelly Campbell, with mining student Joseph Dase
Academy members Kelly Campbell and Abe Mathews, Sr
Mr and Mrs Gerald Carlson in the Seaman Mineral Museum where a reception was hosted prior to the banquet
Academy inductee Walter Rognerud with retired Geophysics professor Mrs. and Dr. Loyal Bacon and Cheryl Rognerud (Sundblad), also an alumna, in Biology '71, and is now a Research Clinical Chemist, Texas Childrens Hospital, Houston, TX

Back To News page

Department of Geological & Mining Engineering & Sciences
Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Drive - Houghton, MI 49931-1295
(906) 487-2531