Utah National Parks Geology
Home
Background
Course Facts
How to Register
Itinerary
Syllabus
Field Map
About the Instructor
Contact Inquiry Form
Itinerary Update: March 2, 2005

Proposed Itinerary for MTU’s 2005 Field Course to Utah’s National Parks and Monuments

Date

Activity Location

Camping Information/Emergency Phone Numbers

June 23, Thursday

Drive: Houghton, Michigan to Brighton, Colorado

 

June 24, Friday

Golden Gate Canyon State Park, Golden, Colorado

Reverend Ridge Campground, J Loop, 92 Crawford Gulch Rd., Golden, CO, 80403,

Phone: 303-659-6005

 

Pick up students arriving at Denver International Airport ~3PM and second van.

June 25, Saturday

Drive: Brighton, Colorado to Unaweep Canyon (Divide Rd)

 

Shop in Grand Junction, Colorado

Uncompahgre National Forest

Forest Service in Grand Junction, Colorado:

970-242-8211

June 26, Sunday

Unaweep Canyon, Colorado & Gateway, Colorado

Uncompahgre National Forest

June 27, Monday

Drive: Natural Bridges

 

Grocery stop in Blanding, Utah

 

Muley Point

*Unimproved BLM campsite. Natural Bridges National Monument (park office):

435-692-1234

June 28, Tuesday

Natural Bridges –

 

Sipapu Bridge Trail

Unimproved BLM  campsite. Natural Bridges National Monument

June 29, Wednesday

Natural Bridges—

 

Owachomo Bridge Trail

 

Showers? Fry Canyon, Utah

Unimproved BLM  campsite. Natural Bridges National Monument

June 30, Thursday

Drive: Capitol Reef via the Henry Mountains

 

Grocery stop in Hanksville, Utah

Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Monument (park office):

435-425-3791

July 1, Friday

Capitol Reef –

 

Burr Trail & Notom Rd.

Fruita Campground, Capitol Reef National Monument

July 2, Saturday

Green River Desert

 

Drive: Moab, Utah

 

Shop in Moab, Utah

Portal RV Park
1261 North Highway 191
Moab, Utah 84532
435-259-6108
800-574-2028

July 3, Sunday

Canyonlands National Park & Dead Horse State Park

 

Shafer Trail

Portal RV Park

July 4, Monday

Free Day

 

Plan ahead:

Climb Mt. Peale? Enjoy Moab? Rafting/Biking?

Portal RV Park

July 5, Tuesday

Arches –

 

Double ‘O’ Arch &

Windows Section

Devil’s Garden Campground, Arches National Park, PO Box 907, Moab, UT 84532-0907  (park office):

435-719-2100

July 6, Wednesday

Canyonlands National Park

 

Upheaval Dome

Devil’s Garden Campground, Arches National Park

July 7, Thursday

Megatracksite

 

Drive: Dinosaur National Monument via Colorado

 

Shop in Vernal, Utah

Split Mountain Group Campsite, Dinosaur National Monument, 4545 East Highway 40, Dinosaur, Colorado 81610
435-789-8277

July 8, Friday

Dinosaur National Monument

 

Sound of Silence Trail & Dinosaur Quarry

Split Mountain Group Campsite, Dinosaur National Monument

July 9, Saturday

Dinosaur National Monument

 

Desert Voices Nature Trails &

Echo Park Overlook?

Split Mountain Group Campsite, Dinosaur National Monument

July 10, Sunday

Drive: Rocky Mountain National Park, Estes Park, Colorado.

 

Wrap – Up!

*Moraine Park Campground,

Rocky Mountain National Park, 1000 Highway 36,
Estes Park, CO 80517-8397

(park office):
970-586-1206

July 11, Monday

Drive: Estes Park, Colorado to Denver International Airport (arrive by 11 AM).

 

Drive: Missouri Valley, Iowa

 

 

Drop off of students at Denver International Airport. Return Rental Van.

 

*Wilson Island State Park, 32801 Campground Lane, Missouri Valley, IA 51555
phone: 712/642-2069

July 12, Tuesday

Drive: Return to Houghton, MI from Missouri Valley, Iowa

Arrive @ MTU afternoon/early evening

* Camping arrangements subject to change depending upon site availability

Disclaimer: Exact days may vary slightly from this schedule